Review: Graceling by Kristin Cashore

 

Review

3236307

Katsa has been able to kill a man with her bare hands since she was eight – she’s a Graceling, one of the rare people in her land born with an extreme skill. As niece of the king, she should be able to live a life of privilege, but Graced as she is with killing, she is forced to work as the king’s thug.

When she first meets Prince Po, Graced with combat skills, Katsa has no hint of how her life is about to change.

She never expects to become Po’s friend.

She never expects to learn a new truth about her own Grace – or about a terrible secret that lies hidden far away…

 

4c9zr74Ki

Star

4c9zr74Ki

A bit of a slow beginning with this one. But I loved the idea of the book and even when things were slow, I was still interested. Then things picked up and it was great.

This is a YA novel that’s vastly different from most others out there. For one thing, the writing style is completely different. There’s no dramatics here. The authors didn’t make a big deal out of anything. It was something that could have been off-putting if it wasn’t also so refreshing. And the book was entertaining without the dramatics and I loved that.

The protagonist of this book isn’t the most lively. I guess when you have a profession like hers, you find it hard to be too enthusiastic about stuff. But she was a super interesting character and I really liked her.

Po, on the other hand, was the life of the party. And I think the author was aware of his importance in the book so she kept him around. He was such a genuine guy. He was humble and respectful and fun and just… amazing. I loved him and his presence in the book.

Another thing I like was that there wasn’t a lot of I’m-gonna-lie-to-her-to-protect-her stuff. Because that is mostly just an unnecessary complication to create drama.

Last thing I loved was that this is practically a standalone, which is something you hardly ever find in YA fantasy. There are other books set in the world and the books are connected to this one. But, as far as I know, they follow different protagonists.

I had one little problem with the book and that was that in the beginning, the introduction to the kingdoms and their names was done in a hasty way. It was a bit information-dumpy and I don’t remember the names of all the kingdoms because of that.

Overall, this was a very cool and refreshing read. I absolutely loved it and I highly recommend it.

3 thoughts on “Review: Graceling by Kristin Cashore

Leave a Reply

