Review: Still Life with Strings by L.H. Cosway

20725005

My name is Jade Lennon and I stand still for money.

The night I saw Shane Arthur watching me everything changed. My sobriety rests on staying away from men, but there was something about him that made me throw caution to the wind.

After all, I was never going to see him again, right?

Wrong.

Now, on a daily basis, I have to resist one of the most beautiful men I’ve ever met and he plays the violin. For me that’s one hell of a deadly cocktail.

Genre: Adult Romance

4c9zr74Ki

3.25 Stars

4c9zr74Ki

I was so, so conflicted about the rating. 3 or 3.5? Now I’m stuck in the middle.

I love L.H. Cosway. I think she’s great and she’s improved a lot from her first books to her recent ones. This one comes in the middle of those so it’s not bad, but not great.

The writing is just okay. It’s not as detailed but you can still picture the scenes in your head. There were a few grammar mistakes (or redundant words) I think and there was a point where she wrote the name of the wrong sub-character.

I like the plot of the book and I like how the dynamic between the two protagonists is the opposite from usual. Jade was the bold one and Shane was fairly shy, which was new. He was a good character.

But then it fell into the same dynamic of the guy wanting a relationship and the girl resisting and that bothered me. Mostly because one of the things I like most about Ms Cosway’s works is the equality in the relationship. That, I thought, was lacking in this one.

And I didn’t like Jade much. She was kind of an asshole in the beginning and later on, it felt like she wasn’t treating Shane very well. Then there was the eavesdropping and lack of trust. That was annoying.

I liked the importance given to the family though, and how big a part art and music played.

The ending was okay with Jade and Shane but with Jade’s family, I felt it was a bit too convenient how everything fell into place by the end. That, and a few other things, made the book seem very unrealistic.

Finally, there were a lot of plot points introduced in this book, good ones, but not all of them were addressed properly. So while this is a good book, it’s not L.H. Cosway’s best work.

One thought on “Review: Still Life with Strings by L.H. Cosway

Leave a Reply

