Review: The Player and the Pixie by L.H. Cosway and Penny Reid

27999771

Lucy Fitzpatrick has a problem. She’s too nice. And she can never walk away from helping someone. So when Sean Cassidy, her brother’s arch-nemesis, approaches her, she can’t help but say yes.

But when their business arrangement unexpectedly leaves Sean scorching hot and Lucy on the precipice of inner peace, can they convince the world—and Lucy’s big brother in particular—that this is the real deal?

Either way, both the Player and the Pixie are about to teach each other some pretty monumental lessons about family, life, but most importantly, love.

Genre: New-Adult

4c9zr74Ki

4 Stars

4c9zr74Ki

This is one of those times when I can’t remember how this whole writing-a-review business works. My mind feels blank.

So, uhh…

Things I liked:

  1. Sean was a complete prick in the beginning. I was glad for that because I would have hated if he’s undergone a personality change between the last book and this one.
  2. Lucy is a great character. I really liked how nice she was and how that sometimes got her in a pickle.
  3. The character of Sean was also great. I hated him initially, as I was supposed to, but he slowly grew on me and I gradually began to like and understand him.
  4. The book is very funny. Some of the parts actually had me laughing out loud and that made for a very entertaining read.
  5. The plot of the book was interesting. And I appreciated how the authors took a character that was not liked at all and made us like him.
  6. The romance and the overall pace of the book were great. There was never a dull moment and the relationship between Lucy and Sean felt authentic.
  7. I’ve often complained that Ms Cosway sometimes introduces some compulsion or psychological issue but later doesn’t resolve it. I was happy to notice that this time, the issue was addressed and resolved.

Things I didn’t like:

  1. I know Sean talked in a posh and sophisticated way because of how he grew up, but sometimes, during the first third of the book, his language went overboard both in narrative and dialogue. And the fact that people didn’t even seemed to notice him talking weird made it worse.
  2. I think there was one-too-many sex scenes in the book. I have no problem with sex in a book, especially if it’s significant to the plot like in this one. But I draw the line at about 2 or 3.

And that’s all I have to say.

This review sucks, in my opinion. It’s not even funny. But the book doesn’t suck. I really enjoyed reading it and while it didn’t blow my mind or anything, I still recommend checking it out, even it’s just to see how well Sean was redeemed.

One thought on “Review: The Player and the Pixie by L.H. Cosway and Penny Reid

Leave a Reply

