Review: The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

Review

16101128After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother-or even saving herself. But can she ever trust him, or anyone, ever again?

 

4c9zr74Ki

4 Stars

4c9zr74Ki

This was a very good read.

I liked the world that was described in the book and the aliens were also very interesting. And their for trying to vacate the earth of its previous inhabitants by kindly trying to kill them al. That was all very cool.

Cassie was also very cool. I found her to be quite badass and her perspective to be refreshing. But that was until she went from badass to plain fucking rude. Now, I have mixed feeling.

Initially, I didn’t like the POV changes but they got better and I got the hang of the writing style, which I liked. I didn’t like Sammy’s POV, though. It just felt like an unsuccessful attempt at sounding 5. Sammy, himself, was great.

The other characters were okay. Evan was creepy in the beginning but he grew on me. I didn’t care for Zombie at all for a large part of the book (which sucked because I had to read over 60 pages of him, continuously) but I started to care after Ringer showed up. I liked Ringer. She was pretty cool.

The concept of the book was good and it was interesting. I did think that the romance part seemed a bit out-of-place. Cassie overblown crush on Ben didn’t help. Maybe if it could have been done in a less gushy way, I would have liked it more.

Overall, I liked this book and I’m curious to see what will happen next.

2 thoughts on “Review: The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

Leave a Reply

