Review: Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater

Review

17378508

 

This book is the third book in The Raven Cycle quartet. That’s why I’m not posting the synopsis. And because the synopsis doesn’t actually tell us anything other than the fact that it’s centered around Blue.

The review contained spoilers for the first and second book, not this one.

 

 

4c9zr74Ki

4 Stars

4c9zr74Ki

You would think that, since this series has a slightly odd writing style, it would be difficult to read. But it’s not. It flows really easily and you can’t put it down.

I really liked this book. Not as much as the second one (to which I gave 4.5 stars) but it was really good.

The reason I liked it less than The Dream Thieves is because a) the dream terrors were terrifyingly awesome, b) it was centered on Ronan instead of Blue and, c) The Gray Man is so much better than Greenmantle.

Greenmantle was an interesting villain, but I wasn’t as much invested in him. His role in the book wasn’t as important. Piper, I was so angry at. At one point I though she may be smart but then she did stuff and I was like, “Why do rich guys think it’s a good idea to marry bimbos and then hand then firearms?”

My favourite thing about this book was the development with Adam. I haven’t liked Adam since book 1. Every scene that had him in it, and my first thought was always, “I do not like this guy.” But during the last third of the book, he actually grew. I think I could slowly start to like him.

Now, while this book was supposed to be about Blue, it didn’t always feel that way. We didn’t find out anything new about her. But she isn’t my favourite anyway, she has this habit of exploding for no good reason, so I was okay with it. Though I have come to accept her.

Gansey is still my favourite. I love him. Ronan is a close second. Noah is kinda adorable. He’s really funny, too.

In fact, all the characters are done very well in this series and that, I think, is one of the best things about it.

Overall, this was a really good book and I am dying for the next one (which is coming out in 3 days!). I’m waiting impatiently and hoping against hope that Gansey doesn’t die because I don’t think I could deal with that.

Please don’t kill him, Maggie…

One thought on “Review: Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater

Leave a Reply

