Wrap up: April, 2016

Wrap up

I read a total of 13 books in April. One of which I’d started last month and one I didn’t finish because it was terrible. You might notice a lot of 4-stars reviews. It was just that kind of month, I guess. I’m gonna arrange by rating (highest to lowest). So here go…
27774758An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

5 stars

This book gets a lot of hype. And it isn’t for nothing.

This book was dark and ugly. The characters are very well-developed and the pace is heart-stopping. The writing is great and so is the story and the world. I am beyond excited for the second book.

 

23308084The Rose and the Dagger by Renee Ahdieh

5 Stars

This was the second and final book of The Wrath and the Dawn duology and it was a great read.

I was afraid the end might be a let down (as it often is with series’) but it so wasn’t. I was very happy with the characters, the beautiful writing and the amazing story. I highly recommend both the book and the series.

 

3236307Graceling by Kristin Cashore

4.5 Stars

This was a very refreshing read. So different from most of the stuff you read in the YA genre. The world was very interesting and I loved the characters.

And it’s a standalone. The other books in the series follow different characters. What more could you ask for?

 

27083865

Roomhate by Penelope Ward

4 Stars

I read this book on a whim. I’m immensely happy about that whim.

This book was not at all what I thought it would be but I really liked how it turned out. The characters were smart and likable and the story was interesting. I wanted to reread it the moment I finished it.

 

17378527The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater

4 Stars

The fourth and concluding novel of The Raven Cycle quartet.

I was so terrified going into this because my favourite character was going to die. And I didn’t want to disappointed either. I was very happy with what I got.

 

27999771

The Player and the Pixie by L.H. Cosway and Penny Reid

4 Stars

These two authors make a great team. This was a well written and highly entertaining novel. The story was great and so was the romance. The characters were likable – well, Sean was a dick in the beginning, but he was supposed to be. He was redeemed very well. Great read.

 

17378508 Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater 

4 Stars

This is the third novel of The Raven Cycle quartet.

This is a very unique and entertaining series with very engaging characters. Characters which shone through well in this book. This was the first time I began to actually like Adam. This was a good book.

 

16101128

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

4 Stars

This was a very interesting read, mainly due to the world that was described. I liked the characters and while the POV changes I found troublesome in the beginning, they were fine in the end. The romance part seemed a bit out-of-place but overall, I really liked the book.

 

7735333Matched by Ally Condie

4 Stars

A beautifully written book, in my opinion, with noticeable character development and no love-triangle, even thought it could have been so easy to create one. Other than the fact that it was a bit slow-paced, it was a great read. And the ending was really good.

 

17838490Playlist for the Dead by Michelle Falkoff

4 Stars

Took me some time to get into this book, but when I did, I flew through it. The protagonist was great and I loved him and connected very well with him. The other characters weren’t as investing but they were okay. I liked the ending a lot and I found the book to be, overall, quite interesting.

 

27272506The Glittering Court by Richelle Meed

3.5 Stars

As someone who isn’t a fan of the author, I surprisingly enjoyed this book. It was entertaining and I liked the story as well as the characters. There were issues, like the romance was a bit fast, there were a lot of description I didn’t care for and the world building was lacking. But it was still a fairly good read and I’m interesting in the next standalone of the series.

 

20725005

Still Life with Strings by L.H. Cosway

3.25 Stars

Not the author’s best work. The writing was okay and I found the female protagonist to be a bit of an asshole. But I liked the dynamic between the two protagonists and the importance given to family, friends and music. The ending felt convenient but the male protagonist was pretty cool. It was an okay read.

 

28456107Daydreamer by Chloe Asher

1 Star

I almost never give 1 star because if I can even find one good thing, I give credit for it. With this one, I hated everything. The writing, the protagonist, the story… everything. It made no sense! All I can say about this one is… don’t read it.

Leave a Reply

