Review: Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

Review

25350996Genre: YA Fantasy, LGBT Romance
Pages: 528
Series: No (It’s a spin-off to Fangirl but you can read it first. No spoilers.)

Simon Snow just wants to relax and savor his last year at the Watford School of Magicks, but no one will let him. His girlfriend broke up with him, his best friend is a pest, and his mentor keeps trying to hide him away in the mountains to keep him safe. Simon can’t even enjoy the fact that his roommate and longtime nemesis is missing, because he can’t stop worrying about the evil git. Plus there are evil things trying to shut Simon down. When you’re the most powerful magician the world has ever known, you never get to relax and savor anything.

4c9zr74Ki

Star

4c9zr74Ki

First of all, what is it with people calling this book a Harry Potter rip-off. Yes, it has many similarities. But that’s the whole point! How do people not get that? It’s infuriating.

Moving on…

Remember how sometimes you have a couple of hours of free time before a very busy week and you start a book thinking you’ll finish it slowly and then end up avoiding everything important to finish the book first?

Sorry for that run-on sentence, but you get what I mean right? Well, this was that book for me.

I started this in the evening 3 days before my exams and spend the entire next day finishing it. It was just so good and interesting and addicting, I couldn’t put it down.

I loved this book. It has great characters that are very likable. I loved Penelope and her nonchalant attitude towards rules. I loved Simon and Baz and their complex relationship. I didn’t like Agatha but I don’t think she was there to be liked. Too self-absorbed.

The writing is great and the pace was relentless (mainly after the first part) and the story was engaging.

The only problem I had, was that there wasn’t enough chemistry between Simon and Baz for love. For the beginning of a relationship, it was fine. But I think the author rushed into “love”.

Overall, this was a great and entertaining read and I enjoyed it a lot. I highly recommend it. This is my second favourite Rainbow Rowell book, after Eleanor and Park.

2 thoughts on “Review: Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

Leave a Reply

