Review: Bewitching by Alex Flinn

Review

11859244

Genre: YA Fantasy, Retelling
Pages: 336
Series: The Kendra Chronicles #2

I would recommend reading Beastly first since the book does spoil the “whether there will be an HEA or not” part, but you don’t have to.

4c9zr74Ki

4 Stars

4c9zr74Ki

This was a surprisingly cool read.

The book follows quite a few characters but mainly, two. One is Emma who a nerdy and sweet girl tormented by her stepsister Lisette. It’s a twist on the Cinderella story.

The other is Kendra, who is a witch. We follow her on a few of her witch-y, short story, escapades throughout the years, like her being stuck in a gingerbread house, helping a princess with a test set by her to-be mother-in-law, and helping a mermaid.

I really liked all parts of the book. Th three short stories were really fun and I liked the author’s take on the different fairytales. Kendra has a habit of messing up more than anyone else I’ve known but she’s still kinda endearing because she always intends to do the right things. She always tries to help but can’t usually manage it.

The main story, the Cinderella retelling, was really good. I loved how Cinderella, Lisette, was pure evil. It was a great take on the classic and I had a lot of fun with it.

I loved Emma as a character and I loved seeing her grow and I really, really liked the ending.

The book is light and loads of fun. It doesn’t take itself too seriously and it’s not some deep, meaningful, tragic story. It is what it is and, that is, a good time.

I had some problems with the writing when we went into the past but it was nothing too bothersome. The book, and Kendra, is knowing and intentionally over-the-top and it’s great.

Overall, I enjoyed the book very much and I recommend checking it out whenever you’re in the mood for something cute, fun and light.

One thought on “Review: Bewitching by Alex Flinn

Leave a Reply

