Review: The Hesitant Heiress by Dawn Crandall

Review

21490837

Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance
Pages: 315
Series: The Everstone Chronicles #1

4c9zr74Ki

2 Stars

4c9zr74Ki

This book is about Amaryllis. Due to a letter from Bram Everstone, a man who has been tormenting her in her nightmares for years, is expelled from the music conservatory. In desperate need for money to open her own music school, she finds out that her grandmother left her her entire inheritance. But, in order to get it, she must marry within the year.

The love interest of the book is Nathan Everstone. He’s interested but Amaryllis might never be able to look past her hatred for his father.

I really wanted to give this book a higher rating, not only because I’m not overly fond of 2 stars, but also because it’s not entirely bad. But the thing is, the book doesn’t have a plot.

Seriously, the book runs solely on misunderstandings and miscommunication. If it weren’t for these two things (and Amaryllis’s character, but I’ll get onto her later), the book wouldn’t be longer than 100 pages.

The writing wasn’t very good either, but it did improve some through the duration of the book. It means that the writing will improve the more the author writes.

I can’t say much about the pace because the whole “no plot” thing.

Now let’s get to the topic of the female protagonist. I could rant about her a whole lot. But I’m not going to do that. Instead, I’m just gonna use a few words: stupid, intentionally oblivious, inconsiderate, cowardly, fucking rude and a liar (lying both to others and herself). I’d say TSTL but her problem is more along the lines of caring too much for herself.

Basically, she was unbearable. Nuff said.

Finally, I wanted to mention something I hardly ever mention. God. I have no problems with God. I’m not a believer but also not a hater. If you have some very religious character in a book, I don’t care. But here, God was just forced into everything. They turned Him into a plot device. I didn’t care for it.

Overall, unless you’re a huge historical fiction fan, don’t read it.

One thought on “Review: The Hesitant Heiress by Dawn Crandall

Leave a Reply

