Review: Across the Universe by Beth Revis

Review

8235178

Genre: YA Science-fiction
Pages: 398
Series: Across the Universe #1

4c9zr74Ki

4 Stars

4c9zr74Ki

This book is about seventeen-year-old Amy, who joins her parents as frozen cargo aboard the vast spaceship Godspeed and expects to awaken on a new planet, three hundred years in the future. Except she wakes up fifty years early. She soon realizes that her waking may not have been an accident and that someone may be trying to kill not only her, but other frozen passengers as well, like her parents.

Now, I have mixed feeling about this one. There were things I really liked and other that I didn’t. And I’ve been trying this thing where I don’t write humongous reviews and my mixed feeling don’t know what to do with that.

First of all, things I liked:

  1. The plot of the book was very interesting. I mean it was a sci-fi, murder-mystery. In space! How could you not be interested?
  2. I also liked the way Elder voice/narrative changed with time. In the beginning, he sounded child-like, naive, but it got older slowly and I enjoyed that. The book was, in fact, quite well written.
  3. I really liked all the things that were revealed. There were a few things I didn’t see coming at all and they made the book more intriguing.

Things I disliked:

  1. Amy. She yelled too much; as in her motto seemed to basically be “Shout first, think later.” Then there was the condescension and the stupidity. I just wished she’d stop blabbing everything without a thought.
  2. I said the book was quite well written, which means there were some problems. Those were the inconsistencies. There were times it seemed choppy or someone would be smiling and I’d think, “Why is he smiling?” and I’d go back a page and still find no reason for the smiling.
  3. Finally, there were a lot of things going on in the book and that wasn’t handled as well as it could have been. While one plot was going strong, the other was neglected. I feel like maybe the author had trouble connecting all the different plot points.

Overall, this was a good book. I do recommend checking it out. It wasn’t as put-together as it could have been but, for a first book is a series, it was done pretty well.

P.S. False advertising on the romance-y cover. This wasn’t a romance novel. I didn’t mind that but some people, who go into it wanting to read a romance, might.

Leave a Reply

