Review: She Laughs in Pink by Jessica Calla

Review

30208416

Genre: NA Romance
Pages: 289
Series: Sheridan Hall #1

4c9zr74Ki

1 Star

4c9zr74Ki

Prepare yourself, this might get ugly.

Every once in a while, you read a book that has so many things wrong with it that you don’t know how to fit them all into a normal sized review and, in my case (since I don’t take notes while reading), how to remember them all. This is one of those books.

This book is about a girl named Juliet who is in love with her best friend Ben. She has leaned on him ever since she lost her twin sister and when he decides to go away for college, she follows him there, determined to make him fall for her. Problem arises when she meets his roommate Chase. Now she has to choose whether she will stick with Ben, or give Chase a chance.

Now, I saw in a video about how to review things that you should start with a positive. So I’m gonna try that.

The plot sounded very interesting and the writing wasn’t entirely terrible. I’ve read worse. Now that may not seem like a compliment, but that’s all I’ve got. The book starts off bad and just gets worse.

The beginning is at a train station and from Chase’s perspective. He sees a girl half a page later. Instant attraction, and the rest is history. I give the author props for at least trying to make the connection seem more than simply physical by making Chase be impressed by her confident posture, but it didn’t work.

The book lacked structure, meaning there was no beginning, middle end. There was, as I recall, beginning, middle, end (oh-wait-it’s-not), middle, middle, something else, end, before-end, end. It was disorienting.

And don’t even get me started on the aura crap.

Anyway, after that, the rest of the book was just bad dialogue, bad plot, one-dimensional characters and Juliet going back and forth between the two guys while still maintaining her Mary Sue thing that the author was trying to accomplish.

Okay, I’ve put this off for as long as I could. The biggest problem with this book was… The Female Protagonist.

Now, I’ve read plenty of bad female protagonists. There were the annoying, the aggravating, the selfish, the bitchy, the stupid, the lying and so many more. But never have I ever come across a psychotic, cheating, inconsiderate and self-righteous slut.

I don’t take the word “slut” lightly. I don’t think I’ve ever used it in a review, or otherwise. But when a girl who is crazy obsessed (and I do mean crazy) with one guy and wants to make him fall for her but is she’s also willing to flirt and make out with every hot guy in a 10 mile radius, she’s a slut. And that’s not even taking into account the fact that she was cheating on one or the other throughout the book.

Now let’s get to the crazy part. She was always flirting witheveryone but the moment Ben came in, she’d be clinging to him like a baby Koala. She was laser focus on him when he was there, and when he wasn’t she passed time with someone else. While maintaining the ‘I love Ben’ and ‘I’m here for Ben’. It was fucked up. Like seriously, I can’t even count the number of time she pulled the ‘I love Ben’ bullshit to Chase right after having her tongue down his throat. She really needed psychological help.

And what’s worse (yes, it gets worse), no one saw what she was doing as wrong because the author didn’t think she was wrong. Everyone was going on and on about how she’s little miss precious and perfect and it pissed me the fuck off!

And for that alone, even if everything else was fine (which it wasn’t, by the way), I hate this book.

Really, really hate it. So please, for your own sanity, don’t read it. And if the author comes across this, I’m sorry for being so mean, but you wrote the shittiest protagonist of all time. It was actually offensive how horrible she was.

And finally, I’ll repeat this for anyone who missed it the first time, DON’T READ THIS BOOK.

2 thoughts on “Review: She Laughs in Pink by Jessica Calla

Leave a Reply

