Review: Legend by Marie Lu

Review

9275658

Genre: YA Dystopian
Pages: 305
Series: Legend Trilogy #1

4c9zr74Ki

Star

4c9zr74Ki

I was a bit skeptical about this one. I’ve heard so many people say that it’s pretty ‘meh’. This book isn’t ‘meh’ at all. It’s very good actually.

It’s about two characters. Day, the American Republic’s most wanted criminal, and June, somewhat of a prodigy who is being trained to serve the Republic. When June’s brother is killed and Day is the prime, and only, suspect, June sets out to avenge her brother by tracking Day down.

As you can tell, the premise is really cool. I’ve been meaning to read this book for almost a year and yet I hadn’t once tried to find out what it was actually about. But when I did find out, I instantly wanted to read the book. And I’m so glad I read it.

The protagonists of this book, June and Day, are both awesome. They’re perceptive, cautious, brave and very smart (I’m a sucker for smart). Loved them both.

The pace is relentless. I swear I couldn’t put it down. The book was so engaging that I was up until 6 am reading it. It’s also well written and I liked the dual perspective. It was nice to have a story that doesn’t have one star protagonist. Both June and Day are equally important.

I kinda guessed some of the revelations but I think it was because I’ve gotten used to the dystopian genre. And the book is almost five years old.

I had two little problems with the book. One was that Day and June were a bit too good for 15-year-olds. It was slightly hard to buy into. The second wasn’t a problem really; I would have just liked more details about the workings of the plan that they made near the end. The plan had a plot hole-y feel to it.

Overall, I really liked this book and I highly recommend checking it out. I’m going to be reading the second book very soon.

3 thoughts on “Review: Legend by Marie Lu

Leave a Reply

