Wrap Up: June, 2016

Wrap up

I didn’t do a wrap-up last month and I wasn’t sure I would be doing one this month either because there were quite a few books. It seemed like a daunting task. But I try to stick to a schedule (the operating work being try) and here it is, the warp-up.

I’m going to write a brief review of each book and add a link to the full review to the title. The books are organized by rating (highest to lowest). Here we go.

 

9275658Legend by Marie Lu

This is the first book of the YA Dystopian trilogy, Legend.

I loved this book. It had a great plot, smart protagonists and a fast pace that kept me excited. The writing was good and the story made sure that I couldn’t put the book down. I had a difficult time buying into Day and June being so good at 15, but it wasn’t a huge bother.

4.5 Stars

 

22055262A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

The first book in a YA Fantasy series called Shades of Magic.

This book had a super intriguing premise and was set in a very interesting world. The writing was good and so was the world building. I liked the male protagonist but was a bit iffy about the female one. The story was good but the pace was very slow.

4 Stars

 

11859244Bewitching by Alex Flinn

Book 2 of the Kendra Chronicles but also kind of a standalone. It is a Fantasy series of fairytale retellings.

This book was a very fun read. It liked the story and the narrative. I also loved how the book didn’t take itself too seriously and was, overall, a very good time.

4 Stars

 

22926494

Appealed by Emma Chase

Book 3 (but standalone as well) of The Legal Briefs series. The book is an adult contemporary, romance.

This was a funny, cool read. I really liked the story and the male MC, Brent. There was no angst and excessive drama. But the epilogue made me cringe.

4 Stars

 

11387515Wonder by R.J. Palacio

This is a standalone, middle-grade contemporary about a boy with facial disfiguration.

I like the premise of the book, the story and even the multiple perspectives. But I didn’t like Auggie’s narrative and the format was bothersome at times. The story was also a bit cheesy near the end but it was still a good book.

3.5 Stars

 

26721568The Problem with Forever by Jennifer L. Armentrout

This is a standalone YA contemporary, romance.

This was an interesting, well-written (for the most part) book with good protagonists. But I had some issues with the female protagonists treatment of the male protagonist. And the pace was very slow and full of long, kinda boring monologues.

3.25 Stars

 

12954620Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes

Book 1 of 6 of the Falling Kingdoms series, a YA high-fantasy, series.

Interesting premise and cool world but the writing wasn’t very good and neither were the character motivations. There were plot holes as well. But it got me interested in the series, I did like some of the characters and the end was cool.

3 Stars

I also review the next three book. Book 2. Book 3. Book 4.

 

30289887Kick, Push by Jay McLean

Book 1 of an NA Contemporary, Romance duology.

I really liked the prologue and the book had potential. But the relationship between the characters was very rushed. There were many ups and downs through the book and it would have been better if the story concluded in this book. The sequel seems unnecessary.

3 Stars

 

7896527Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Book 1 of 6 of the Throne of Glass series, a YA fantasy, romance series.

It sounded interesting, was entertaining at parts and some characters were okay, but I didn’t get that badass assassin I wanted. Celaena was a terrible protagonists and the writing was stuffed with superficial descriptions. Even the mystery aspect didn’t pan out.

2 Stars

 

30369285Ramsay by Mia Sheridan

Standalone NA Romance novel.

I didn’t care for the premise or the cover, but I like the author so I gave it a shot. I was very disappointed. It was overdramtic, didn’t have a very good story and I was extremely bothered by the female protagonist, who was petty, mistrustful, childish and incompetent. The writing was okay and so were some other parts but that was it.

2 Stars

 

21490837

The Hesitant Heiress by Dawn Crandall

A historical, adult romance.

Poorly written book with a bad protagonist and not much of a plot. Some parts were okay and the male protagonist was cool but it wasn’t a good read.

2 Stars

 

18142113The Darkest Part by Trisha Wolfe

Standalone NA Romance.

The book was predictable, slow-paced, had a terrible protagonist and a plot that I did not give a shit about. I didn’t feel much romantic connection between the protagonists. I didn’t even care for the writing. Don’t know why I even gave it two stars.

 

She Laughs In Pink by Jessica CallaShe Laughs in Pink by Jessica Calla

Standalone NA romance that sucks.

There is absolutely nothing good about this book. Not the writing, not the story, not the structure or pace, and definitely not the characters. In fact, this book might just have the worst protagonist of all time. Don’t read the book.

1 Star

 

This last one doesn’t fall in with the others because it was a ‘DNF’.

60510Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder

Book 1 of a YA Fantasy, trilogy.

Main reason I didn’t finish it because I didn’t like the writing. It was inconsistent, lacked detail and made me feel disconnected. I couldn’t bring myself to care about anything or anyone in the book because of it. I might have liked the book otherwise.

 

And… we’re done!

Whew! That was a lot of books! For me, at least. If you can read more in a month, I applaud you. This many were more than enough for me.

Leave a Reply

