ARC Review: Blow by Heidi McLaughlin

29092770

Genre: New-Adult, Romance
Pages: 224
Series: Virtuous Paradox #1 (works as a Standalone)
Release Date: November 8, 2016

4c9zr74Ki

3 Stars

4c9zr74Ki

I liked this book. It was a good read. But it could have been so much better.

It follows Bodhi McKnight, son of Hollywood A-listers and the member of a very popular boy-band, Virtuous Paradox. He has a drug problem and when his father finds out, he sends Bodhi to rehab. There he meets Kimberly, who makes him want to get better even more, so that he can be with her.

It’s a simple plot really. And this is a simple and short story presented in a simple way. And that’s kind of where the problem lies.

You see, while I have no personal experience with addiction, I know that nothing about it is simple, or clean or as… unfeeling as it seems in this novel. Battling an addiction is a messy and long process. I mean, as someone who has a certain routine, if someone made me stop wearing my wrist-watch, it would bother me a lot. And I’m not addicted to my watch, it just makes looking at the time easier. Just like drugs make many things easier. Then add in the pain of detox and your body’s demand for more… it makes sense that the relapse rate is so high.

And for something like this to be portrayed in such a simple way where it doesn’t seem to be very hard at all, that’s kinda disrespectful to the people who have actually overcome an addiction.

But I’m not saying it was horrible. Some parts were good. Just not good enough. If the author had given a little more time and attention to that aspect of the novel, it would have been better.

As for other things, this was a very readable novel with a story that I thought was very good and a protagonist that I could get behind. I liked the addition of Bodhi’s parents, friends, and of Suzan, a woman at the rehab. Kim was okay. I didn’t find her to be very likable and I couldn’t connect with her or the romance between her and Bodhi. I’ll even go as far as to say that the book would’ve been fine without any romance at all. Kim could have been a friend.

One final thing I want to say is that the situation with Rebel, the band manager, felt unresolved to me. I think it’ll be explored in the future books along with some other plot lines that were set up in this novel.

Overall, I enjoyed this book even though I believe it could have been executed better. I’m interested to read the other books in the series. As for recommendation, it’s short and fun so I think you should give it a shot.

Thank you author, pulisher and Netgalley for providing me with this copy in exchange for an honest review.
Leave a Reply

