Review: Badd Motherf*cker by Jasinda Wilder

cov

Genre: Adult, Romance
Pages: 350 (but feels a lot shorter)
Series: Badd Brothers #1 (there are 8 books, only one is out)

4c9zr74Ki

2 Stars

4c9zr74Ki

Okay so, this one is totally on me. I knew what I was getting myself into. I guess I was hoping that Jasinda Wilder finally wrote another really good book. Obviously, that hasn’t happened.

This book about a runaway bride, Dru, who ends up in a bar run by Sebastian Badd after an impromptu flight. He helps her out, they have a “connection”, and then Seb’s seven other brothers start to show up and there a lot of setting-up-the-next-seven-books-and-ignoring-the-current-one. Honestly, this book was just for set-up.

I almost didn’t write this review, you know, because I like to keep things PG in my reviews and this book just… isn’t. Not the name, not the cover and definitely not the contents.

It wasn’t a horrible book, but I’m having a hard time thinking of positives. It has a few things that weren’t bad and I liked Dru’s breakdown moment. But that’s about it. As for the negatives… Yeah, I’ve got a whole lot of those.

Let’s start with the romance. It consists, mostly, of sex. Dru shows up, sexual tension. A brother of two show up, sex (with Seb, not the brother), argument, more brothers, more sex, and more brothers. The author was so busy alternating between scenes-to-give-a brief-summary-of-each-Badd-brother-that-showed-up, and sex scenes, that there was no time for any actual romance or emotions.

Talking about the brothers, they were all, obviously, absolutely gorgeous. And Dru took the time to describe, in detail, just how gorgeous each and every one of them was. While Seb took the time to tell us about every single one’s personality and occupations and all that. I wasn’t kidding when I called this a set-up book. Also, and I don’t usually mention this in reviews, but it really bothers me how every male protagonist in a romance novel has to look like an Abercrombie and Fitch model while every female protagonist has to be “the most beautiful girl he’s ever laid eyes on”. It’s getting fucking old.

Moving on, I didn’t like the narrative. Especially Sebastian’s. The author threw in a whole bunch of f-bombs and other swear words to make him sounds “manly”. And while I don’t mind a colourful vocabulary, it has to fit. An overuse of f-bombs makes it look like the author’s trying too hard and not in the right way.

Overall, this book simply didn’t work for me. If you’re a huge Wilder fan, you’ll probably like this one as well. If not, I suggest avoiding it.

Not sure if I’ll read the other books in the series, all of which will probably have names that are Badd puns (ugh! even I’m making bad crappy puns. Unintentionally.). They’re all standalones though, so maybe I’ll read the ones that get good reviews. You never know what to expect with Wilder; a good book (Falling into Us) can have a terrible sequel, and a terrible one (Alpha) can have a good sequel. I’m hoping to find another good one soon.

One thought on “Review: Badd Motherf*cker by Jasinda Wilder

Leave a Reply

