Review:The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey

23231750

Genre: Young-Adult, Dystopian
Pages: 320
Series: The 5th Wave #2
Narrators:   Phoebe Strole, Ben Yannette
Listening Time: 8 hours and 13 minutes

Disclaimer: This review contains spoilers for Book 1, The 5th Wave.

4c9zr74Ki

Star

4c9zr74Ki

I listened to the audiobook for this one because a) for the past two weeks, I suck at daytime reading and audiobooks help with that, and b) I was very sure that I wasn’t going to like the book and it’s easier to listen to a bad book that to read it (it’s how I got through Throne of Glass).

So you can safely assume that I had very low expectations of this sequel, which may be a contributing factor as to why I liked it so much.

The story continues with Ben, Cassie and Sam being saved and the whole team holed up in a hideout. They need to not get caught by the Others and keep running. They need to make a plan as to how they’re going to survive. But they also need to wait for Evan, Mr Alien Prince, who may or may not be alive. And they still don’t have all the facts as to what the Others are doing.

This means that everyone is restless, high-strung, worried and terrified, trying to figure out what to do. That’s communicated very well through the character, by the author and the narrators. The narrators were quite good, Phoebe Strole narrating a larger part. They both did a really good job, especially with the more feisty, sarcastic scenes. I enjoyed listening to the book.

And despite people whining about bad pacing, I thought it was good. I didn’t feel that the book dragged at any part except with Ringer near the end. The story was engaging and kept you at the edge of your seat to find out what would happen next. I even liked all the characters.

I know Cassie gets shit because a lot of readers felt that her relationship with Evan was taking over her personality. But I thought she was fine, good even. She was strong, she made me laugh and while she was very worried about Evan, I couldn’t blame her. I also didn’t have a problem with her and Evan’s relationship, unlike with the first book. There was moments that she annoyed me, but each character got a moment like that. Hers was simply higher in intensity.

The star of this novel for me though: Poundcake. I mean, Ringer was great and Grace was very interesting, but Poundcake was the surprise. As were the revelations and the ending.

Seriously, the ending has gotten me so pumped for the next book. We’re so close to finding out everything and it sucks that I gonna have to wait a month to read it (I made a schedule).

Overall, I really liked this installment to the series and if you’re like me, unsure of whether you should read it because you’ve heard bad things, I think you should give it a shot. I don’t know why this book gets so much crap. It’s not a bad book at all.

One thought on “Review:The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey

Leave a Reply

