Review: Every Day by David Levithan

13262783

Genre: Young-Adult, Contemporary
Pages: 322
Series: Every Day #1

4c9zr74Ki

5 Stars

4c9zr74Ki

It’s been a long time since I’ve used a GIF. And even then, I used them for a very short time that I’m not good at finding them. But in this case, I was having a hard time figuring out how to express how I feel about the novel so I decided to give it a shot.

My feelings are like a combination/cross between the two GIFs. Hope that makes sense.

What I’m trying to convey is that I didn’t expect to like this book as much as I did. I also didn’t expect to like it the way that I did.

This book follows a boy “A” who has a very strange life where he wakes up every day in the body of a different person. He’s gotten used to it. Until one day he meets Rhiannon, a person he wants to be with. And from them on, he starts try, every day, to get back to her.

It’s an awesome plot. And some books you like because of the plot  or plot twist, some because they’re funny, some because they’re very well written and some because they’re super-exciting. There are many reasons. This one I loved because it was surprisingly deep.

There were so many things to learn from it. The different kinds of people who were in this book were so interesting and it was so great getting to know all of them. In fact that, for me, was the best thing. The different personalities, the different people and the different lives.

I just… I have no words for how much I adored that aspect of the book. It was so profoundly meaningful and beautiful, and gave you a better and deeper understanding of so many things. And there were so many different types of people! Whenever I though that we’d gotten through a large variety of them, there would be another one.

I also loved out protagonist. I’m going to refer to him as a “he” because that’s how he is in my head. Not only because Rhiannon thinks of him as a guy but because the narrative is that of a guy. But that may be because the author is male.

Anyway, the protagonist was very considerate and I loved how he spent so much time learning and trying not to disrupt people’s lives. He genuinely cared about them and he accepted his life with a surprising lack of bitterness. He knew that he deserved happiness but he also understood that it couldn’t be at the expense of others, that they also deserved good lives.

I have mixed feeling about Rhiannon. But it’s not about the author or that fact that she couldn’t seem to imagine a life with our protagonist. It was a pretty bizarre situation. I just disliked how she treated him sometimes. And how much better she treated her asshole of a boyfriend.

There are also many quote worthy moments in the book. Like, after he sees a protest against gay people.

I don’t understand this at all. It’s like protesting the fact that some people are red-haired.

The only problem I had, was the insta-love. Even though I expected it and though the author did try to make it as meaningful as he could, , I still didn’t like it. But I’m willing to look over that because while I try to take into account every good and bad thing about a novel, sometimes if there’s something that I find really wrong, like stalking being glorified, etc., I make an exception and give it 1 star. So why should the opposite not be true?

Yes, this book had some flaws and some people might not be able to overlook them, but I can. I loved the book; it was refreshing and meaningful and amazing for me and I very much recommend it to everyone. It’s a beautiful book

2 thoughts on “Review: Every Day by David Levithan

Leave a Reply

