Review: The Deal by Elle Kennedy

Cov.jpg

Genre: New-Adult, Romance
Pages: 342
Series: Off-Campus #1 (also a Standalone)
Release Date: February 24, 2015

4c9zr74Ki

5 Stars

4c9zr74Ki

This book was so much better than I expected. And after all the fawning reviews, I was expecting it to be good. Turns out, it’s awesome.

The novel follows our two main characters, Hannah and Garrett. When Garrett finds out that he’s failing his ethics class and that he might not be able to play hockey if he doesn’t bring his GPA back up, he turns to the only person in the class who got an ‘A’. Hannah is less than inclined to help him. But when he suggests that he’d help her get a date with a guy she’s crushing on in exchange, a deal is struck.

And that’s all the info you need to know because the Goodreads synopsis is totally not right. Seriously, half of it is wrong. But that’s no problem because the wrong part is substituted by something better. But you have to read the book for that.

And reading this book will be no chore, I promise. This is such a light and fun read but also touching and cute and emotional… you’ll be glad you picked it up. I sure am.

This is a well written novel with very likable characters, a good and interesting story, a perfect pace and is very entertaining. I was smiling and laughing the entire time I was reading it, which was one day and basically one sitting, since bathroom breaks don’t count.

The best part was, hands down, the relationship between Garrett and Hannah. I mean, apart they were both well-developed and likable people, but together, they were perfect.

The romance between them was slow burning and done very well. It wasn’t a case of insta-lust, like in most novels. No, things started off with the deal and they slowly became friends. They bickered, they talked, they studied, they laughed and developed  a beautiful connection, all before trying to get in each other pants. Shocker, I know!

Honestly though, they both cared about and knew one-another. They had mutual respect and a lot of trust. They supported one-another. And they laughed. I know I already mentioned that, but I just loved that they made each other laugh. I understand feelings and intensity and sexual attraction and all that. But I call total bullshit on true love if the two people have never even shared a genuine laugh. Laughter is very important to me, and something I often find to be lacking in romance novels.

So yeah, I adored the relationship between out protagonists.One of the best ones I’ve read. And I believe the two are perfect together.

The supporting characters were also given a fairly good introduction so that they wouldn’t be interchangeable. Especially the ones that will appear more in the future novels of the series.

Overall, everything was great and I was in a terrific mood after reading it. Highly recommend checking this one out.

3 thoughts on “Review: The Deal by Elle Kennedy

Leave a Reply

