Review: The Last Star by Rick Yancey

16131489

Genre: Young-Adult, Dystopian
Pages: 338
Duration: 9 Hours and 15 Minutes
Narrators: 
Phoebe Strole, Ben Yannette
Series: The 5th Wave #3
Release Date: May 24, 2016

Disclaimer: This is more of a rant than a review.

4c9zr74Ki

There’s no rating. Because after listening to 2 hours of the audiobook and being bored out of my mind, I decided to read some reviews while listening. The reviews convinced me that things were only going to get worse. Then I accidentally read a huge spoiler and decided I couldn’t put myself through almost 7 more hours of listening to the book and read more spoiler review and skimmed through the unread part as e-book.

Here’s a non-spoiler glimpse of why this book is not the conclusion we deserved. I’m going to go through the characters (some of them) one by one.

Cassie: The badass character from The 5th Wave is no longer here. She has been replaced by a girl who’s kinda pathetic and thinks way too much. And who’s narrative is ridiculous. In her place as star-of-the-series, we have Ringer.

Ringer: I know a lot of people are obsessed with her, but I simply don’t like her. She had a huge arc in The Infinite Sea that I had a hard time getting through and here, her importance is increased even more. Everyone’s is going on and on about her perfection and I just wished someone would shoot her. Little Miss Overrated-beyond-belief pissed me off.

Ben: I haven’t cared about the guy since book 1 and I still don’t. End of story.

Evan: Ahh… Evan Walker, AKA the only character I cared about and whose story I found interesting, minus his romance with Cassie which got way too angsty. He was barely in the book and didn’t even get the ending he deserved. The lack of attention paid to him was definitely a reason as to why this book sucks.

Sam: He was Rick Yancey failed attempt at writing a five-year-old.

And that’s it. This novel left me feeling exhausted and disappointed and frustrated and angry. I didn’t like the writing in this one, I didn’t care about the characters and I hated the ending. Which is why I’m going to refrain from writing more about it and spend the next few days trying to forget I read it.

I know that’s a harsh thing to say. And this isn’t the-worst-book-ever-written in any way. But it still managed to ruin a series that I really liked and that’s bad enough.

Leave a Reply

