Review: Midnight Alias by Elle Kennedy

15808436

I’m only allowing this shirtless-dude-cover on my blog because of the gun holster.

Genre: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 354
Series: Killer Instincts #2 (Can be read as standalone)
Release Date: February 5, 2013

4c9zr74Ki

4 Stars

4c9zr74Ki

Midnight Alias is the sequel to Midnight RescueThis book wasn’t as good as the previous one for me, but the rating is the same because my liking is subjective while with reviews and ratings, I try to be objective.

The book follows the character of Luke Dubois, a member of a team of mercenaries on a mission to find an agent who went missing while undercover. They have to keep an eye on a mob boss, Angelo, who is the owner of a strip club. Olivia Taylor works at the club to support her education and her mother’s cancer treatments and medication. She’s also the unwilling girlfriend of Angelo and is approached by Luke to find out more about her “boyfriend”.

The novel has a good plot and I appreciated how different the character of Olivia was from Abby, the protagonist of Midnight Rescue. I didn’t love her like I did Abby but I saw how strong she was in handling everything she’d been dealt. Luke was a great character, with his humor, charm and regard for others while maintaining a practical outlook. I was also very invested (maybe even a little more than Luke and Olivia) in two secondary characters, Trevor and Isabel. Theirs is the next book and I’m pretty excited about it.

The pace of the book was okay. It felt very long, even though it’s about the same length as the previous. Not that it was boring. Just… longer-feeling.

The villain of the novel was a nutjob. I know a lot of readers didn’t like him as much as they did Devlin in book 1, but I thought he was more interesting. Devlin was dangerous, while Angelo was given more backstory. He was messed up from his childhood even though he’d had a loving one. You don’t see that much. I hated him; as you’re supposed to hate a guy like him.

The main problem with the novel was toward the end. The climax events were too similar to that of Midnight Rescue. That was off-putting.

Overall, I liked this novel and I’m pretty sure I’m going to be doing a series marathon this month. Let’s just hope I can balance this series with the books on my schedule because I’ve already fallen behind. So much for the new year’s resolution, huh?

One thought on “Review: Midnight Alias by Elle Kennedy

Leave a Reply

