Review: Midnight Games by Elle Kennedy

15812170

Genre: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 345
Series: Killer Instincts #3
Release Date: August 6, 2013

While this book can also be read as a Standalone, I highly suggest you read the previous two because the protagonists have their story in both of them and it makes the reading experience better.

4c9zr74Ki

Star

4c9zr74Ki

After two books as sub-characters, Trevor and Isabel finally get their own novel, and I’m not disappointed.

At the end of the last book, Isabel bailed on Trevor without a word, leaving him waiting for her in a hotel room. It’s been five months since that event and Iz has managed to avoid him the entire time. When she finally goes to meet him, the team compound gets attacked and she joins up with him and the rest to figure out who was responsible, because that person may also be responsible for Trevor’s boss, Jim Morgan, going missing.

The entire book is a mystery trying to figure out who attacked the compound, why and who the target was. They also have to figure out what connection the person who ordered the attack has with Jim while trying to locate Jim, who might just be dead.

The characters have a lot on their plate and having to deal the complications of their personal relationship just makes things harder. It’s also a delicate balance for the author because you want to properly develop the romantic relationship but you also don’t want slight the gravity of the situation that everyone is in. Elle Kennedy managed both aspects very well and I think it helped that we already knew Trevor and Iz from the previous two books. We knew about how they worked and about their problems. This book was simply to conclude their story, for better or for worse. It was a smart move on the author’s part.

I really liked this book, probably my favourite so far (or maybe tied to Midnight Rescue). I loved both Trevor and Iz and was very eager to read their book because I really wanted them to have the ending they deserved. And because I just couldn’t stand not knowing where they would go. I’m very happy with how their story was handled. They were really good together.

The mystery of the attack and of Jim ended in a way I didn’t see coming at all. Hell, the book ended in way I didn’t see coming at all. But seriously, it was a lot of fun trying to work out why the compound was attacked when Jim wasn’t even there. Maybe the target wasn’t Jim. But then who was? And where the hell did Jim go? It was all very interesting. Kept me hooked.

The novel was well written like the last two. The little pacing issue I had with Midnight Alias wasn’t present in this book. I throughly enjoyed the read and I highly recommend giving it, and the rest of the series, a shot. While I myself will be moving to the next book.

Leave a Reply

