Review: Midnight Pursuits by Elle Kennedy

18141688

Genre: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 368
Series:
Killer Instincts #4 (Can be read as Standalone)
Release Date: April 1, 2014

4c9zr74Ki

3.5 Stars

4c9zr74Ki

Was this book somehow shorter than the others or did I just read it faster? Because it just whooshed by.

Anyway, this book follows the characters Ethan, the rookie in Jim’s crew of mercenaries, and Juliet, one of Noelle’s assassins. They met before and clashed because of Juliet constantly teasing Ethan about being a kid. And now, after Juliet’s brother is murdered, Ethan steps up to help her get vengeance and also to protect some people who are being targeted.

Well, the latter is actually just Ethan’s idea. Juliet is more concerned with eliminating the bastard who killed her brother. Which is understandable. Over the years of Juliet’s not-easy life, she’s learnt to take care of herself and to not have a bleeding heart for every person in danger. Ethan isn’t like that. He’s a really great guy who, under no circumstances, will let innocent people die.

Obviously, Ethan and Juliet are both very different people. And that works for them …Or it would work for them if their relationship didn’t feel so neglected.

I mean, it wasn’t entirely neglected. I understood why Juliet chose Ethan. But not why he chose her. I know he was attracted to her physically and that he had a thing for strong women. I even know that he wanted to prove that he wasn’t a kid. But why her specifically? There are other older, hot and strong women in the world. Why her? I really wanted to know that. But alas, their relationship was rushed.

I liked the other plot though, the one regarding corrupt politicians. And the fact that there was focus on that aspect and on some other characters I’m very curious about (namely Jim, Noelle and D), eased my hurt over a ‘meh’ romance.

But coming back to Ethan wanting to prove himself. There were a few scenes when Juliet’s saw him as a “man”. And every time she said that he was “all man” or something similar, it made me cringe. The whole ‘being a man’ concept always does. Is that just me?

But besides that, I don’t have much else to say. The plot was good and I loved the pace of the novel, but not the romance. It felt generic, something we’d read before and something to pass the time until we got to the next book, which I’m pretty excited about. It’s Jim and Noelle’s story, finally. I’m very eager to get Jim’s perspective but dreading the backstory chapters (I hate backstories, in all formats).

Overall, this was still a good read and a good installment of the series.

 

One thought on “Review: Midnight Pursuits by Elle Kennedy

Leave a Reply

