Review: Midnight Action by Elle Kennedy

18141689

Genre: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 368
Series: Killer Instincts #5 (Can be read as standalone, but please don’t do that)
Release Date: November 4, 2014

5 Stars

4c9zr74Ki

It took me a while to get to this book. I read the first four almost one after the other, but with this one, I was wary. You see, the two main characters in the book, both introduced in book 1 and prominent in the series, had expectations to live up to, and they had a history. The latter is more of a personal issue because history often entails backstory/flashbacks, and I’ve mentioned before how I hate those fucking things.

But in this case, they worked. Mainly because Elle Kennedy is awesome. She knows just how much she needs to give the reader and just when. She balances the past and present, the scenes that we need to see, the info we need, all of it, so well. You can tell she knows what she’s doing and it’s brilliant.

Now for the plot of the book: As I said, the protagonists, Jim and Noelle, have a history. And while I can’t tell you what that is, I can say that it’s not particularly good. The both of then hate each other. There are, on every meeting, semi-serious death threats going around, maybe more serious than semi, so it’s quite a surprise when, on being contracted to eliminate Jim, Noelle instead decides to help him find whoever wants him dead. Oh and, did I forgot to mention? Jim is mercenary/super soldier, and Noelle is an assassin.

Now add all of that to the severe amounts of sexual tension between the two, and you have an awesome book. One which I think I’ve already sold. I mean. what else do you need me to say?

The book is very well written, both the characters kick ass, are interesting and likable. I love the story of the novel, the romance, and the revelations. The pace is fantastic and this is, overall, a really good read that you won’t be able to put down. Seriously, I read it in two sittings (food is important, too) and I highly recommend reading this book and others by Elle Kennedy. She’s a great author and this is one of her best book (second best, for me, to be accurate).

2 thoughts on “Review: Midnight Action by Elle Kennedy

Leave a Reply

