Review: Midnight Captive by Elle Kennedy

23398610

Genre: Romantic Suspense, Adult
Pages: 368
Series: Killer Instincts #6 (Can be read as a standalone but the others are so much better)
Release Date: June 2, 2015

3.5 Stars

4c9zr74Ki

I just can’t do the synopsis things right now. Here’s the GR one:

Former CIA agent Bailey Jones has no room in her life for a reckless, rule-breaking Irishman, and she’s vowed to steer clear of the tempting bad boy who lured her into his bed under false pretenses.
When Sean is implicated in the robbery of a Dublin bank, Bailey knows something isn’t right. So what if she can’t trust him? There’s no way Sean would end up on the wrong side of the law. In fact, he’s stuck in the middle of a dark and dirty conspiracy that could put his twin brother’s life at risk with one wrong move. And Bailey’s life too when she agrees to help.

Onto the review:

This was a quick read for me. Mainly because I just wanted to get it over with since I hadn’t wanted to read it in the first place. And I have a reason for that too.

After the last book, Midnight Action (which I loved), I was very curious regarding a sub-plot, that I was hoping would be in this book, about two sub-characters. The sub-plot was there and I really wanted to know what would happen so I kinda skimmed the book.

I got what I wanted, more frustration in my wait for the book with those sub-characters as protagonists, but I also found out that I hated one of the protagonists of this book. She had one quality that I absolutely loathe. She was a liar. And she didn’t just lie to other people. No, she also lied to herself so that she didn’t feel bad about her shitty behaviour toward the other protagonist. She was a cowardly bitch of a person who kept finding excuses to treat the guy like shit because she couldn’t figure out her own shit.

Safe to say, she annoyed the fuck out of me.

I mean, I understood the reasons she had behind her actions, but that didn’t excuse her behaviour toward him and it certainly didn’t excuse the lies. I hated her.

The other protagonist, Sean, was good. He wasn’t my favourite characters but he was a good guy and a good characters. I liked him fine. I just wish he’d told Bailey to get over herself and take the assumptions she had about the kind of person he was, and fuck off.

But anger at Bailey aside, this book had a good plot, really good sub-plots about two other characters (as I’ve already mentioned). It was a well-written and well-paced novel full of actions and characters that I cared about (except Bailey, of course. Her, I would shoot myself) and was overall not a bad read. I would have liked it better without she-who-caused-me-to-rant.

I recommend reading the other book in the series. They’re better. Then, if you like them, you can try this one.

One thought on “Review: Midnight Captive by Elle Kennedy

Leave a Reply

