Review: Confess by Colleen Hoover

22609310

Genre: New-Adult, Romance
Pages: 320
Series: None
Release Date: March 10, 2015

4 Stars

4c9zr74Ki

The first time I read this book, it was almost a year ago. And after reading it now and reading my previous review, I find that I disagree with my past self. My past self didn’t like Auburn and saw both her and Owen as weak. She didn’t see their strength but I, my present self, do. I liked the novel better than I did then, something that almost never happens. It makes me feel like I’ve matured in the past year.

Confess is about two people, Auburn and Owen. They both have problems in their lives and they’re both trying to fix things. When Auburn comes across a ‘Help Wanted’ sign posted outside Owen’s art gallery, they both form a connection. But Owen has secrets that may come between Auburn and the life that she’s so desperately trying to have for herself. To be together, they first have to get their lives in order, and they try to help each other do that.

I can’t really tell you about the they help each other with because, in typical Colleen Hoover fashion, they’re a secret. Colleen Hoover loves secrets. I’m pretty sure every book of hers has at least one big one. But that’s beside the point.

The point is, Colleen Hoover is a dramatic writer. With her, it’s all about deliberate glances, little touches, deep breaths, one word said for a hundred words thought. It gives the story intensity. I don’t particularly love or hate it (just stating facts) but it definitely distinguishes her and helps with the romance. Though it can get a bit too dramatic at times. I guess I just want something more out of a love story than “she has a calming presence”. I want to see people get along, communicate using words before they can communicate with stares.

Despite that though, I liked the romance. I liked both the characters as well, unlike the last time. Though Auburn still wasn’t my favourite.

The thing about Auburn, she’s very resilient and has endured a hell of a lot. She’s loving and protective. She just doesn’t do anything. It frustrated me to no end seeing her do nothing and just go with whatever was easy. I know she was in an impossible situation but I hated how she made excuses for why she didn’t act against those who were being dicks. And then seeing her sudden transformation from Helpless Hannah to Daisy Determined… I didn’t entirely buy it. Like, just a pinch.

Owen was great. He was a good and funny guy, he was selfless and not helpless. And I loved that he was past self-hatred. He knew that he was a good guy. There wasn’t a case of “I’m not good enough for her” or “What did I ever do to deserve her?”. He knew he deserved to be happy and that was a breath of fresh air. Though my favourite characters was still Emory, Auburn’s roommate. She’s awesome. You’ll see.

One last things before I conclude; at one point very soon after meeting him, Auburn lets Owen into her apartment. And she says this:

Texas is turning me into a whore.

It bothered me so much. It’s basically slut-shaming, and I don’t like it at all. There were only a couple of instances of it but still, female authors need to be more respectful toward females.

In the end, I noticed and appreciated many thing that I didn’t before (though I did notice the slut-shaming both times) and I liked the novel. If you’re a fan of Colleen Hoover, then you’re probably like this book as well, but even if you’re unfamiliar with her or iffy about her, I still think you should give it a shot. It’s a good read.

Leave a Reply

