Review: The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan

26367642

Genre: Young-Adult, Middle-Grade, Fantasy, Mythology (Norse)
Pages: 499
Audiobook Duration: 15 Hours, 21 Minutes
Narrator: Christopher Guetig
Series: Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard #1 (Trilogy)
Release Date: October 6, 2016

Star

4c9zr74Ki

For some reason, when the sequel The Hammer of Thor came out, I didn’t read it. Now it’s been a year and a half since I read this book (well, before I just reread it) so I was rusty of my details. Obviously, a reread was in order before I read the next book, and the last one that’s coming out later this year.

The Sword of Summer is set in the Urban Fantasy world of Percy Jackson but instead of Greek mythology, the focus is Norse mythology. Magnus Chase has been homeless for the last two years, ever since his mother was killed. He’s learnt to live life on the streets. But then he gets into some godly trouble and dies. He’s taken to Valhalla, a place for fallen warriors who prepare for the big battle on Doomsday, aka Ragnarök. There he finds out that someone seems to be trying to kickstart Ragnarök early and will do anything to stop them, even die again.

Now before I get into other stuff, I’m just going to point out that Magnus is very similar to Percy. They have a very similar voice and I noticed that. I also noticed the ways in which they were different. I listed some of the differences in my original review here.

I’m not going to say much about that particular topic because it’s not something that bothered me before and it doesn’t bother me now. That hasn’t changed. Though honestly, not many of my feelings about the book have changed. I still found it to be an exciting and entertaining book, I still loved meeting the new deities and learning about a different mythology and I still want to give Hearthstone a hug.

I’m serious about that last point. In my last review, I wrote the words “I wanna give him (Hearthstone) a hug” and while reading it this time, I planned to write the exact words “I want to give Hearthstone a hug”. It’s uncanny.

But anyway, something that did change was that since I was already somewhat familiar with the mythology, I didn’t have as hard a time getting into it and it was an easier ride. I was able to have more fun with it. But I guess that can be attributed to the fact that this is a reread. And that I’m not in a reading slump.

As for the audiobook, I liked it, but didn’t love it. The narrator did a good job but the voices didn’t always fit the characters.

Overall, I love the story, the characters, the little Percy Jackson easter eggs, the narrative, and the action. This is a great novel and I’m now even more excited to pick up the sequel.

3 thoughts on “Review: The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan

Leave a Reply

