Quirky Opinions

In Summary… 2020

Happy New Year! And don’t worry, I’m not going to try to summarise the events of the nightmare year that was 2020, just my reading for the year. And I’m going to use questions from this post by The Perpetual Page Turner. It’s an End of Year Survey. And I came across it via this YouTube video by Merphy Napier.

So without further ado, let’s get on with the survey. Though I’m not answering all the questions, only the ones I find relevant and have answers for.

Number of Books I Read: 129
Number of Rereads: 10 (I think)

1. Best Book You Read In 2020?
Glad to see we’re starting with the easy one… And I’m gonna go with the first book that comes to mind, which is The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson. But since we’re allowed to pick favourites from different genres as well, I’m also gonna include Pieces of You by N.R. Walker.

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?
Gonna have to go with A Kingdom of Flesh and Fire by Jennifer L. Armentrout. I didn’t hate this book, but it was a huge letdown, especially after how much I’d liked the first book.

3. Best series you started in 2020? Best Sequel? Best Series Ender of 2020?
The best series I started was The Stormlight Archive by Brandon Sanderson, the best sequel was Words of Radiance from The Stormlight Archive series (I promise I’ll try not to keep bringing this series up), and the best series ender was UnDivided by Neal Shusterman.

4. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?
I don’t read a lot of manga or graphic novels, but I read like 15 volumes of Fullmetal Alchemist by Hiromu Arakawa this year, and they were brilliant.

5. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2020?
These two:
43822024 53131137

6. Most memorable character of 2020?
Two answers for this one as well. First is Kaladin from The Stormlight Archive, and second is Cordelia Carstairs from Chain of Gold by Cassandra Clare.

7. Most beautifully written book read in 2020?
I feel like it’s cheating to say Persuasion by Jane Austen. But that letter alone gets all of the awards. So I had to choose this book.

8. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2020?
The Giver by Lois Lowry. I wouldn’t call it life-changing, but thought-provoking for sure.

9. Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2020?
I read a few bonus short stories this year, but for books, I think the shortest was Mitosis by Brandon Sanderson at 55 pages. And the longest was It by Stephen King.

10. OTP of the year
Hard to choose… I’m gonna go with Alex and Henry from Red, White and Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston, and Dallas and Justin from the Missing Pieces series by N.R. Walker.

11. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year
Wax and Wayne from the Wax and Wayne series (or Mistborn Era 2) by Brandon Sanderson. And Sam, Gary and Tiggy from The Lightning-Struck Heart by TJ Klune.

12. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?
Warbreaker by Brandon Sanderson. I adored the setting and magic system of this book, and I’m looking forward to rereading it at some point soon. Maybe after I’m finally caught up on all the Cosmere books.

13. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?
Anything by Lily Morton was a lot of fun. And Power Plays & Straight A’s by Eden Finley and Saxon James made me smile the widest.

14. Book That Made You Cry.
The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson.

15. Most Unique Book You Read In 2020?
In Other Lands by Sarah Rees Brennan, I think, because of themes it chose to explore and the stories it chose to tell, all in a setting we’ve seen before.

And those were all the questions I wanted to/could answer. Fifteen is a good number anyway. I’m not making any list of books I want to read in 2021, because those never go well for me. Instead, I’m gonna stick with monthly TBRs. I have next month’s TBR list ready, and it will be going up tomorrow.

Again, Happy New Year, and let’s hope it’s better than the last.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com