Review: Heaven by Jet Mykles

cov

Technically, the cover has art of two mostly naked guys who resemble the MCs. I’m just not putting on my blog.

Genre: Adult, Romance, M/M
Pages: 123
Series: Heaven Sent #1 (Can be read as standalone)
Release Date: May 30, 2006
Publisher: Loose Id, LLC

2 Stars

4c9zr74Ki

I read this one for a reading challenge and while I don’t regret it, some things really didn’t sit well with me. It was readable and the writing was okay enough. I guess it had some entertainment value, mainly because it’s a really short read.

It’s about a band called Heaven Sent. They’re performing at the opening of a club and Tyler is one of the owners of the club. Not to mention, a huge fan of the band. Tyler’s father is dying and his hotel is suffering. The club is his only hope so it means everything that they got such a popular band to agree to play at the opening. Tyler didn’t expect to be so attracted to Johnnie, the lead singer, because he thought he was straight. He thinks it’s just hero-worship, that he’ll get over it. Little does he know that Johnnie has other plans.

There were two main things that bothered me. One was Tyler’s whole “I’m not gay” insistence, all the while he was practically salivating over Johnnie. He kept saying that he was attracted to women, which, of course, would mean he was bisexual. Only, he’s didn’t seem familiar with the concept. He kept telling Johnnie that they couldn’t sleep together or whatever because he liked women. It was stupid. Then the term bisexual actually came up …and was promptly forgotten in favor of more “I’m not gay” bullshit. As if no other sexuality exists outside of straight and gay.

The second thing I didn’t like is worse. The GR synopsis insinuates that Johnnie would seduce Tyler. I don’t think seduction means what the book thinks it means, unless it mean pressuring someone. It was in one scene and I wouldn’t call it rape since there was no sex and there was some form of consent (I think), but it definitely toed the line, enough for me to not approve at all.

So yeah, I read it and it wasn’t terrible experience. I still want to change the rating to one star but for now, I sticking with 2.

Advertisements

Top 3 Thursday: Book Quotes That Stuck With Me

Sorry about the mini-hiatus. I was in the mood for procrastination (more than usual, that is) and kept putting off the reviews. I’m back now …until the next time I go AWOL.

This topic has to be one of my favourites because I don’t just love books for their stories and their characters, it’s also for the sentences that are sometimes phrased in a way that’s so amazing that you want to take some cans of spray paint and write them across town. It’s for those profound things that are said in just a few works.

I never start a book with the intention of highlighting the lines I like most. I wish I did but I always forget. And it’s only when something really sticks out to me that I think to maybe mark it or write it down. And I’m going to post three such quotes.

 

1. “It is our choices, Harry, that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities.”

— J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

If there’s one thing you should know about me, it’s that I always side with the Good Guys. And I am never swayed by sob-stories. If someone crosses a line and does something truly bad, it doesn’t matter what he or she has been through in life, what adversity they’ve faced, I will not cut them any slack because I believe that, in the end, we always have a choice.

It doesn’t matter if you were wronged and betrayed in your adult life, or if you had a horribly traumatic childhood; unless someone was literally controlling your mind when you did what you did… you deserve to be punished. I’m an extreme believer of choices and that’s why this quote is my favourite. It tells us that we’re not defined by what we were born with, but what we choose to do with it.

 

2. I long for exclamation marks, but I’m drowning in ellipses.

— Isaac Marion, Warm Bodies

Warm Bodies has a very unique concept and, when I read this line, I so badly wanted to tell everyone how freaking brilliant it was. I mean, how awesome is that phrasing? And then you consider what it represents. With context, it could simply be about the protagonist, who is a zombie, not being able to speak. But it’s also the perfect metaphor for someone with anxiety. When you feel like you’re choking on all the things you want to say but you just can’t say them. And what a clever way to express that…

 

3. “It’s a sin.”
“No, hurting someone is a sin.”

— Sarina Bowen, Goodbye Paradise

This one is a little different from the previous two, in that it doesn’t seem like a typical quote. But for me, it’s a way to distinguish between right from wrong. I can’t even count the amount of times I’ve been conflicted about something, only for these lines to replay in my mind. And I ask myself, does it hurt anyone?

It’s so simple yet so accurate that it still baffles me sometimes. I wish everyone could ask themselves this whenever they decide to condemn someone for their sexuality or race or gender. Being gay doesn’t hurt anyone but the hate you give someone for being gay most certainly does.

Review: Dawn of Eden by Julie Kagawa

18298704

Genre: New Adult (though the series is YA), Fantasy, Paranormal, Dystopia, Romance
Pages: 122
Series: Blood of Eden #0.5 (You can read it before the series)
Release Date: July 1, 2013
Publisher: MIRA

Amazon   Goodreads

3 Stars

4c9zr74Ki

I could easily divide the book into two parts, plot-wise. One I found to be very interesting, the other I more or less hated.

The one I liked was related to the world building. There is a deadly plague that has spread and it is dangerous enough to be an apocalyptic event. Kylie is a doctor. She has set up a free clinic to help the sick. There’s no cure and there are (very) few who recover, but she’s wants to at least be doing something; even if it’s just making them comfortable until they die.

Ben comes to the clinic with a heavily injured friend, asking for help. Kylie knows there’s something going on with the two when she sees the nature of the injury and when Ben is less than forthcoming about what happened.

That’s the part that was good. This is a well-written novella that does a good job of introducing us to the world that it’s set in. Things are bleak and getting no better and I found that plot of the book to be interesting and I definitely wanted to read more. I still do actually, which is why I’m going to be reading the series despite the part of the novella I didn’t like.

That was the romance. It was pretty obvious that there would be one, from the moment Ben showed up. And I wouldn’t have minded; I like romances. But this was so poorly done. It was beyond rushed, the attempt to make Kylie and Ben like each other was transparent, and things got way too serious way too fast.

I think it was the author trying to give a well-rounded story without any open endings regarding the characters and how they would end up. But sometimes, when it’s just a novella and the romance isn’t even the main plot, you have to leave it open, especially if the protagonists have just met. I get wanting to write a complete story—open ending can be annoying—but it’s better to suggest what would happen or give an epilogue, than to rush things. The romance, by the end, was just gushy and gross. Didn’t like it at all.

But that doesn’t dissuade me from the series because even though there will likely be a romance there as well, the author will be able to take her time with it. I liked all the other aspects and that’s what’s important. I can’t say whether fans of the series will like it, but I thought it was pretty good.

Review: Trick by Natalia Jaster

26594092

Genre: Romance, Fantasy, New Adult/Young Adult
Pages: 310
Series: Foolish Kingdoms #1 (Can be read as Standalone)
Release Date: November 4, 2015
Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform

Amazon   Goodreads

Star

4c9zr74Ki

I came across this book about two years ago, maybe longer, and the synopsis intrigued me. Yet for some unknown reason, I didn’t pick it up until a few days ago. Still, I had a feelings it would be good and I’m super happy to be proven right.

The book is set in the kingdom of Spring. There are four kingdoms: Spring, Summer, Autumn, and Winter. I don’t think there’s any other fantasy element, except that. The book is mostly romantic and political. The latter was unexpected. The story is about the Court Jester of Spring, Poet, falling for Princess Briar of Autumn.

Ordinary people aren’t allowed to travel between kingdoms, much less migrate. Royals can only do it if there’s a big reason, like, in this case, a peace talk. There’s already peace between the kingdoms but they still get together to discuss matters.

Poet and Briar don’t get off to the most amicable start. Poet is, of course, a jester so he’s going to joke around and entertain. Briar is a very prickly sort of person. She’s not tolerant of people kidding around with her, for personal reasons. She can also act quite superior, what with her being a princess and most people being “beneath” her. That’s one of the things that bothered me about her, that she too often said that Poet was “lesser”.

But as a whole, I liked her. Most of her behaviour can be attributed to her need to maintain the facade of the perfect, composed princess. You see, the society we see has many flaws. It’s not sexist or homophobic at all, which is awesome but the social divide is extreme. It’s not even acceptable for a princess to befriend a commoner.

Another issue, an infinitely worse one, is regarding the mentally challenged. They’re called Born Fools. Anyone suffering form a mental disorder from birth, on discovery, is considered property of the Crown. Then they’re used as slaves or locked up, if they’re dangerous or too erratic. They’re not even thought of as humans. And it’s a major conflict in the novel, trying to change these inhuman laws and maybe change public perception.

That’s why I said the novel was political. The world is very well-developed, as you might already be able to tell from everything I’ve mentioned, and I’m really glad there are more books set in it because I would love to explore the other kingdoms.

The romance is also great. Poet is so much fun. He’s quite arrogant because of all his talents but he has soft sides. He also has quite the way with words. I also love that when he and Briar argue, which is often, and she says something really mean, he retaliates in the same way. I’m tired is seeing guys who just accept bitchiness and simply flirt back, because the book is usually being pandered to woman. It’s annoying. And I loved seeing that it wasn’t the case here.

Poet and Briar, despite their differences, come to see each other’s true self, and I loved how much they cared about each other even though there could be no future for them. They were both realists, you see, and knew that being together in any capacity was pretty much an impossibility. Yet they always cared. It was beautiful; as was the writing.

I’ll be honest, though. This wasn’t my preferred type of prose. I prefer simpler stuff and this was very lyrical. Lots of metaphors. It gave me a limerick-like feel. I know there are lots of people who would eat all this up and while I liked it as well, it was still a bit too lyrical for my taste. That, and the bit I mentioned about Briar’s meanness, are my only two complaints with the novel. I loved the book, especially for the well-rounded world, and I highly recommend reading it. Seriously, the e-book is less than a dollar on Amazon, you gotta give it a shot.

Top 3 Thursday: Books That Made Me Laugh Out Loud

Another ‘Top 3 Thursday’! I didn’t do one last week because it was about the top 3 characters I’d like as roommates and I didn’t have any answer. I put up with people because I have to, I just don’t see myself choosing to have a roommate.

But this week’s topic is great because funny books are the best. It’s not easy to write something that makes people laugh and I admire any author who tries and accomplishes it. So without further ado, let’s get on with the list. I also have a couple honorary mentions.

 

1. Sustained by Emma Chase

22926485One of the best things about Emma Chase is how good she is at writing from the make perspective. And in this book, we not only have a male protagonists, Jake, with a brilliant sense of humour, there are six kids added to the mix and it’s one the best things ever. Here’s a sample of a scene in which little Rosaleen is contemplating a sleeping Jake:

There’s pressure against my eyelid. And then it’s pried open—revealing Rosaleen’s blurry, peering face.
“Are you dead?” she yells.
Apparently she suspects I’m also deaf.

Amazon   Goodreads

 

2. Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams

11This book would make the list for a lot of people. It would also make the list of some of the weirdest books. It’s absolutely genius but takes a little time to get used. It’s basically about two guys, one human and one alien, trying to survive in space after Earth gets destroyed to make a galactic freeway. That right there is perfection. Then you have the depressed robot, who’s my favourite, and the part from the perspective of a whale… I can’t recommend the book enough.

Amazon   Goodreads

 

3. Every Single Rick Riordan Book Ever

Uncle Rick is one of my favourite author for many reasons. He’s an amazing writer and has some of the best characters. He also seems to have a never-ending supply of fresh humour to add to his books. I mean, I’ve read over 20 of them and they’re all hilarious and packed with actions. Never has there been a better way to learn about various kinds of mythology than with Rick Riordan’s urban twist. I’d recommend starting with The Lightning Thief because it’s the first book and it’s narrated by Percy (a.k.a. Persasssy) Jackson. The sheer amount of book he has may seem intimidating but you’ll love and won’t want to stop reading.

Amazon   Goodreads

 

4c9zr74Ki

In the end, I gotta mention The Deal by Elle Kennedy. It was really as toss-up between this one and Sustained and I couldn’t leave it out. I also wanna mention Cassandra Clare because I love that she incorporates humour in every one of her books, even though they’re not of the humour genre. It’s one of the things that make her stand out for me.

What are some of the books that made you laugh out loud? Be sure to leave a comment below.

Review: Switched by N.R. Walker

cov

One might argue that the cover doesn’t deserve Random-shirtless-dude status because most of the cover is the guy’s face. But you can see enough to tell that he’s shirtless; unless he’s wearing a very low tube top.

Genre: New Adult, Contemporary, Romance, M/M
Pages: 269
Series: None
Release Date: December 25, 2016
Publisher: N.R. Walker

Amazon   Goodreads

Star

4c9zr74Ki

This is the last review (finally!) from my N.R. Walker binge. Finished the book over a week ago and then procrastinated reviewing it. Which sucks because I hate reviewing books so many days after finishing them, especially when I’ve read five more in between. But let’s try anyway.

Israel Ingham has had a difficult life. His family has always been far from loving and their rejection has deeply affected his self-worth. Then he finds out that, due to a mistake by the hospital, he was switched at birth (there’s a TV show by that name, right?) and that his birth mother wants to meet him. It’s a huge blow to the already fragile foundation of his sanity.

His one saving grace is his best friend, Sam. The two of them have been inseparable since they were fourteen and even though Israel’s father doesn’t approve of the friendship, he and Sam have always been there for each.

Now this is a very, very difficult time for Israel. The book’s from his perspective and your heart breaks for him. His family screwed him really bad and then finding out that they’re not even his birth parents? He’s left questioning everything about who he is and where he stands in their lives. He’s not even sure if his father will take this as an opportunity to remove Israel from his life for good. Things are falling apart and he wants to cling to Sam.

But there are these new feelings he has for Sam and he constantly feels like he’s a burden to his best friend. It’s sad. But not angsty, surprisingly. That’s one of my favourite things about the author. Even though her stories are emotional, following her characters’ journey, they’re never over-dramatic. The aim is to tell a story, not tell it in an angst-filled way.

That’s not to say that you don’t feel for the characters. I definitely empathized with Israel. Everything that he went though and the way he was trying to deal with his problems, it was all written very well. Israel is a very well-developed character and his friendship with Sam is precious. You can tell  how much they care about each other and how much it hurts Sam to see his best friend in pain. You can also tell that Sam is totally in love with Iz, even if Iz can’t. I loved seeing Israel’s development throughout the book and seeing his and Sam’s relationship.

This was a really good book with a great story. I’m totally a sucker for characters stories and this was one of the best kind. I also love when importance is given to mental health, because it’s something that’s still mostly overlooked in the our world. And I, overall, loved the book and highly recommend it.

Review: Roomies by Christina Lauren

34466910

Genre: New Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 368
Series: None
Release Date: December 5, 2017
Publisher: Gallery Books

Amazon   goodreads

2.50 Stars

4c9zr74Ki

This book follows Holland. She is an aspiring writer but hasn’t found an inspiration just yet so, in the meantime, works at the theater for her uncle, who is a brilliant composer. Almost every day of the week, she takes the subway (even though she doesn’t need to) to watch a guy play. She’s developed quite the crush on him and, when the lead violinist from her uncle’s show quits, she suggest him as a replacement.

Problem arises when they find out that the guy, Calvin, is in the country illegally since his Visa expired a long time ago (he’s from Ireland). And in a burst of craziness, she marries him. That way, he gets to be on the show and she gets to help her uncle, who she loves more than anything.

Now, I don’t know how accurate the details regarding the marrying-him-will-help-him-be-in-the-show thing are. I could probably try to Google all this stuff but I’m instead going to assume either accuracy or creative licence. I need to focus on the review because there’s a rant coming and that’s already going to increase the length enough. But before that, let’s talk positives.

The beginning was really good. The book is from Holland’s perspective and initially, we were introduced to her as the kind of person who very aware of her own position. She knows that she’s privileged, that she’s pretty but not beautiful, that she’s very shy and doesn’t often take risks. She knew herself quite well and when she made the bold suggestion of marriage, it was great. I liked that even though she’s not a confident person, she was willing to do something so huge to help someone.

Also, her narrative was funny. Calvin was funny and flirty and charming. Holland’s relationship with her uncle was really sweet and I enjoyed at least the first half of the book. Then things started to go sour.

For a large part of the book, I really liked Holland. But I feel like the Holland we were introduced to wasn’t real. I felt cheated because, in reality, Holland isn’t much more than a mess of insecurities and cowardice. She liked Calvin but she was unsure if he liked her back. And instead of, you know, talking about it, she was happy to assume that he was just playing along. She even went so far as to think that he was faking feelings for her so that they could stay married. And that was when she was supposedly falling for the guy.

It really pissed me off because on one hand, you’re saying that you might be falling in love with him, and on the other hand, you’re saying you think he’s some kind of asshole who would toy with someone’s emotions for selfish reasons. And I know that’s her insecurity talking but still, did she not know him at all?

Speaking of “knowing him”, I’m still not sure if we do. Holland often complained (about a lot of things) about how she didn’t really know Calvin. And the solution would be to have a conversation, right? Except it didn’t happen. She never talked to him. I can’t even count the amount of times she thought to herself that maybe she should ask Calvin about his feelings but instead decided it was better just to assume what they were. And I’m just sitting there wanting to yell at her. How does she expect to get to know a guy if she never makes an effort. She was surprisingly self-absorbed.

But again, self-consciousness does that to a person. What’s important is that you change. Holland never did. She never made an effort to communicate with him or to sort out any problems between them. She never fought for their relationship, she never trusted him and never had any faith in the kind of person he was.

And he was a good guy. He made a few mistakes but he was nice and funny and treated her very well. He always wanted to try to talk things through but since Holland always ran away, it couldn’t happen. It was infuriating that, throughout the entire book, Holland didn’t change at all. She’s never apologized to Calvin for doubting him for no reason, nor did she give the impression of a girl who loved him. I didn’t see their relationship ever working out because I knew that, at the first sign of trouble between them, Holland would bail and it’d be up to Calvin to fix everything.

This was a very disappointing book that made me want to scream (at Holland). It didn’t feel like a romance novel, when I think about it. The lack of character development ruined all goodwill created by the fun. I think the authors were trying to write a story about a girl learning to love herself, but didn’t have the best approach.

There was potential here. The writing was good and, like I said, I really liked the first half, but I couldn’t put up with all the inner-whinings of Holland and it’s jarring every time I think about how much we don’t know about Calvin; or the very annoying best friend. I mean, we know what Holland thinks they’re like, but since she rarely had real talks with anyone, we don’t really know. And just for her alone, I can’t recommend this book. It could’ve been so great and that makes me sad (and angry). I hope I have better luck with Autoboyography.

4c9zr74Ki

P.S. It bothers me that Holland was just waiting for the universe to hit her with a great idea that she could turn into a book, instead of actually doing something. And that, in over three-fifty pages (and many months), I don’t remember her ever reading a book. And the events in her life are not an excuse; we could be in the middle of a literal zombie apocalypse and, between running for my life and trying not to get eaten, you can bet I’d find time to read. Hell, I’d steal a notebook to write reviews in so I could post then afterwards.

Review: Cronin’s Key II by N.R. Walker

25538011

Genre: Paranormal, Romance, M/M, Urban Fantasy
Pages: 242
Series: Cronin’s Key #2
Release Date: May 22, 2015
Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform

Amazon   goodreads

3.5 Stars

4c9zr74Ki

In the first book, we were introduced to Alec, who was an NYPD detective, and Cronin, a twelve hundred year old vampire. They were fated/soulmates and, despite some issues, they worked things out. We found out that Alec is also the key to stopping an evil vamps and couldn’t become a vampire himself until he’d fulfilled his purpose or whatever.

One purpose was to stop a would-be goddess and, this time, another evil vampire has come to life and Alec has to stop him too. But the story isn’t as compelling as it was in the first book. The villain isn’t that interesting and I ended up liking the book less than the first.

There were plenty of good things. Like Alec still being a great character and Cronin being a sweetheart. Eiji was still just as funny and brilliant and I loved the revelations about who Alec is, where he comes from, and the further look into what makes him different from other humans. There was also the addition of a few other characters, mainly the British head vampire, and a seer named Jord (loved him). And the subplot with some of the ill effects of Alec’s “special blood”, I liked that too.

But the other parts, like the lack of development with the antagonist, the abundance of exposition, the anti-climactic final show down… well, the final showdown wasn’t “anti-climactic” per se, it just had a lot of stuff going on. It got convoluted and rushed and things weren’t explained as well as they could’ve been.

In book 1, Alec tried to understand what Keket was up to and, when the moment came to defeat her, he figured it out and it made sense how he did it. There was proper built-up. This time, there was barely any planning, stuff simply happened and most of the revelations had no effort on anyone’s part. It was disappointing because I love how smart Alec is and it sucks that he was almost out-of-commission for the most part.

Overall, this wasn’t as good as I’d hoped it would be but it was still good. There were many redeeming factors and I am definitely reading the third, and final, book (though not immediately) and I’m still hoping to find out more about the fated concept.

Review: Evolved by N.R. Walker

39924226

Genre: Science-Fiction, Romance, M/M
Pages: 242
Series: None (I really wouldn’t mind a spin-off)
Release Date: April 21, 2018
Publisher: BlueHeart Press

Amazon   goodreads5 Stars

4c9zr74Ki

How cool is it that N.R. Walker seems to be exploring difference genres and doing such a good job with them all? She’s awesome!

This time, we have science fiction. Lloyd Slater has OCD. He likes things a certain way and certain things bother him. But to the people in his life (there aren’t many since he doesn’t like people much), he’s unreasonable. He’s been dumped because of the things he likes and dislikes and his last boyfriend told him that he should try dating an android. And since the year is 2068 and technology has gotten quite far, he can actually do that.

Shaun is the “latest model” of android, you could say. He looks very human and acts that way as well. Lloyd, on getting him, is very happy. Shaun is everything that he wants.

Of course, soon he finds himself falling for Shaun. Now usually, falling in love with an android can’t end well. But this time, it’s almost like it could end well after all. Shaun acts too human. He learns, he adapts, he has opinions and feeling. But don’t expect him to be participating in big action scenes. This is still a romance at its core, android or not.

But it’s better with the android. Shaun is so much fun. His progress into human-like behavior is gradual but he’s always cheeky and flirty and very vocal about wanting to get Lloyd naked. Lloyd gets all flustered because that was not the plan. He wanted to build a connection with Shaun first, like he would do with a human boyfriend. He always treated Shaun like a person, better than he himself was often treated, and he never wanted to do anything that might seem like he was talking advantage.

Shaun, of course, being curious and eager to experience everything, was having none of Lloyd needless reservations. It was completely adorable, the two of them together. I was grinning so wide the entire time because of just how adorable they were. Everything from the flirty conversations to the discussions about Moby Dick, one of Lloyd’s favourite books; they bonded on every level.

Another thing that stood out to me was that the book reminded me of Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? (still love that title) and then they mentioned the book! Which makes sense because it explores similar themes of what it means to be human and what makes us human. Plus there were little things, things that Shaun did, that we don’t even notice are very human. Like there was this one scene in which Shaun made a pun:

“Very clever.” And it was. It required free-thinking, creativity, and knowledge of how the English language worked and how to play with it.

It always comes down to the little things, doesn’t it?

I do have one teeny complaint-ish. Homophobia was insinuated in plenty of scenes but never elaborated. I’m not even sure to what extent it exists. I would have liked to know. About it and how society, in general, has changed in the years. There was some stuff (like talk of technophobia) but maybe a little more…?

Overall, the “complaint” isn’t a big thing at all and this book is really freaking good. I loved reading it and I now love the author even more.

Review: Red Dirt Heart by N.R. Walker

20880597

Genre: Contemporary Romance, M/M
Pages: 214
Series: Red Dirt #1
Release Date: February 20, 2014
Publisher: N.R. Walker

Amazon   goodreads
4 Stars

4c9zr74Ki

Charlie Sutton runs one of the largest working farms in Australia. It’s hot, harsh and very red, but Charlie loves it. He’s determined to do a good job. But things his father said to him about a gay man’s ability to run a farm got to him. And even though his father is no more, those things and the fear of judgement ensure that he focuses only on work. Besides, living and working on a place that’s three hours from the nearest town hasn’t exactly given him many opportunities to date.

That all changes when Travis arrives. Travis is an American and only around to study the land for the six weeks. He and Charlie hit it off immediately. He’s an agronomy student, he shares Charlie’s love for the job, he’s also a hard worker, funny and quite bold.

Charlie is still reserved. And it makes sense. His father messed with his head quite a bit. And since the guy’s dead, it’s not like Charlie can argue with him or tell him he’s wrong. All he can do is prove the guy wrong. He’s trying to do what he thinks is right. And abstaining from romantic entanglements seems to be his way to go. Travis challenges that from the start. Sure, Charlie is his boss but since Travis never gives him a reason to complain and gets along so well with everyone, Charlie can’t exactly be yelling at him for no reason.

I liked how bold Travis was. He was also decisive and a go-getter. He questioned Charlie’s reasons for living the way he did and helped him be happier. He was fun and I liked both him and Charlie a lot.

The other characters, mainly the two people who were more like surrogate parents to Charlie, were a good addition. And the setting, as hot and bleak as it was, was very well done on the author’s part. You could feel yourself in that place. Though honestly, with the weather we’re having where I live, a hot and dry hell is hardly difficult to imagine.

Overall, this is another great book by N.R. Walker. I’m definitely going to be reading the sequel. There are four books, all following the same characters, and while I’m always skeptical about such series, I wanna give it a shot this time.